Why I Write Christian Fantasy

fox-cover_banner

jim-fox-2Author Harry James Fox writes:

The truth is, I am not sure that my novels are actually “Fantasy” as the genre is usually conceived. The Fantasy genre usually includes magic and fantastic creatures, or, if not that, then at least vampires or something of the sort. My books have none of that. This is because these things make me uncomfortable. So, I don’t write about them.

Nevertheless, my novels are often called “Fantasy,” because they depict a future world very different from ours. The Bible, when speaking of the last days, uses language that sounds like battles being fought with ancient weapons. (Rev. 14, Ezekiel 38-39) I realize that these references may be symbolic, but I decided to take them literally. That would mean a loss of technology; a kind of dark age, lies in the future. This seems fantastic, so my novels are placed in the Fantasy genre.

All that aside, I write the kind of books I like to read. I like novels that are clean reads. I avoid bad language, graphic violence, and explicit sexuality. I like tales of bravery, honor, love, courage and redemption. I like books that appeal to both men and women. I try to make the characters real people, with all the frailties common to mankind, but I also want a tale that one could give to a teenager without embarrassment. Finally, I want a tale that honors God without being preachy.

Somehow, that seems to fit well with a future Colorado that looks very much like the Medieval past, with a main character that has spent his formative years studying the ancients (us, in other words). That has resulted in tales that are part action/adventure and part romance, even though called “Christian Fantasy.”

About Harry James Fox:

Harry James Fox was born in the mountains of western Colorado, an area featured in his novels. He has worked as a cowboy, an intelligence officer with the US Army, and had a career in natural resource management with the Bureau of Land Management, US Department of the Interior.

He served a wartime tour of duty in Vietnam, working closely with Australian forces there. His training in the biology of natural wild-lands is reflected in the imagery of his writings. In fact, the landscape of his books have been likened to a major character in its own right.

He makes his home in the deserts of southern New Mexico, but usually spends part of the year in North Carolina to be close to his grandchildren.

He enjoys horses, the outdoors, elk hunting, long walks in the desert, and story-telling. He loves the local cuisine, particularly green chiles. He likes a cup of hot tea with friends. patriotic parades and bluegrass music. He dislikes chocolate, long speeches, and the need to wear reading glasses.

Jim’s Book Awards:

BRONZE MEDAL winner in the 2016 Global Ebook Awards in the Fiction – Fantasy/Alternate History category.

Winner of the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award for Summer, 2016 “Best Book in the Category of CHRISTIAN FANTASY.”

Award-Winning Finalist in the “Fiction: Religious” category of the 2015 International Book Awards

Contact Harry James Fox here

Visit Harry James Fox Website here

Visit Harry James Fox Amazon Author Page here

See Harry James Fox Featured Book Post here

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.